18 dear dear dear (2016

I use dish soap to drown you
Filthy, wretched, my only love

Silence makes the heart grow fonder
But folding the laundry is erotic
And makes my chest contract

I can tell when your nods are genuine
I wonder what you wish you were named
And if you had one hundred dollars,
What you wouldn’t do with it

I am itchy and bogged down
I grow hunched and inevitable
But I won’t throw you into the oven
You’re already baked

I joke about carmel –
You too get stuck in my teeth
I pretend I bite off your limbs and cannot take my eyes off you

Why are you so vain?
You throw clothes out that brush against the floor
You eat name brand ice cream
Like the fucking Queen of England
You act like you’re wealthy in wisdom
You’re just wealthy in lies
And recycled cereal boxes

At least you’re humble.
I’m the gossip.
I dare you to tip your hat at me,
Assuming you can afford to trim your bangs

Lounge in the sun
Pretend you’re a snake
Not being a snake

Leave a Reply

