28 candle burden

they say i am made strong and can stand against the wind
there is a flame burning inside of me
passion to remain, exist
eschew normal formalities
extend my reach over dinner tables
shake your hand, welcome you home
and I deposit fragrances i cannot smell
and I am loved
but the candle burden is painful
self-sacrificing even though i want to maintain my ego
what i did not ask for was to burn outside of me
passion for me? selfish environment.
you do not struggle
you do not hesitate
and i am abused
as you lean in
to stop me in my tracks
i cry smoke

—–

I’m going to start writing again. This was written in May. It is already, somehow, July. So… I have 70 more poems to write for my resolution. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

