26 fools of the time

we are just old fools of the time

washing in and out with the moon’s tide
tied to the rotting wood of the pier’s dock
i stray away from thoughts of the commonplace

we are just old fools of the time

a wretched monster festering in our gullets
I fear the youth that slowly drains me, drains from me
I watch the sky ebb and flow carelessly

we are just old fools of the time

I pull the lead from the paint with manicured nails
with zen-like, fung shui, and rearrange the mountains
I cannot give the world a better future

I am just an old fool of my time

Leave a Reply

