17 patience (old)

i train on the red dust trails
absorb pebbles through my soles

my soul on fire
surely an agent of peace?
what else can I know?

but the sun streams in tattered beams
slice my brain through my eyes
eyebrows flutter away

apocalyptic heat to greet this evening

i train on the red dust trails

the voice of my mother whimpers
calls me to dinner,
inhale the rumble of my stomach
absorb me back into the womb, feed me

she sees me as a giant
i cast a 50 foot shadow with raised arm
she is threatened by my opportunities
i am the source of her envy

Leave a Reply

